Triforce Grading

The Triforce is from a series of Nintendo video games called the Legend of Zelda. Within the world of the game, the Triforce is a sacred relic.

The Legend of Zelda games have been extremely popular and impactful on pop culture over the last 30 years. I really value this series and I am working on a grading system based on a major feature of these games, the Triforce.


This icon is made up of three distinct triangles. These golden shapes  represent Power, Wisdom, and Courage. One of the main goals of these video games is to find all three pieces and combine them together into the extremely powerful Triforce. Mastery of the Triforce allows for the player to overcome the ultimate evil. Balance is the whole point of the Triforce. Only having one or two of the attributes is not enough, but we must each work hard to maintain balance among power, wisdom, and courage in order to thrive!

The top triangle represents Power. Often times, the series main villain, Ganon, will obtain the triangle of Power and become obsessed with power. His focus on power leaves him lacking in courage and wisdom–which ultimately leaves to his downfall.

Wisdom is represented by the left triangle. Generally, this is the piece of the Triforce that is obtained by Princess Zelda. She is not only wise, but also powerful and courageous.

On the bottom right of the Triforce is the Courage piece. This is the part best represented by Link, the player character. Like Zelda, Link’s heart is in balance between courage, wisdom, and power.

So–how does this apply to the classroom? I think that instead of giving one grade to represent every part of a student’s performance, we could focus on three categories. You guessed it–Power, Wisdom, and Courage.

To me, this system has a lot more fidelity and gives students more detailed feedback.

Power represents a students ability and drive. This includes effort, participation, and work ethic.

Wisdom is about knowledge and thoughtful judgement. This is about picking the best option, making good decisions, and thoughtfully planning.

Courage means overcoming fears and being brave. This requires trying new techniques, overcoming obstacles, and pushing oneself.

I believe that using these three metrics, instead of just one grade per assignment, shows the student better feedback, and gives the teacher more useful data as well. Plus, it fits into a very simple visual layout–one number in each triangle!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s